Alec Monro Award for Conservation Excellence

The $1000 H. Alec Monro Conservation Excellence Award is given annually to an early to mid-career Canadian in the conservation community who demonstrates a passion for and commitment to saving endangered animals in Canada.

Wildlife Preservation Canada encourages the nomination of Canadian citizens of all backgrounds, cultures, ethnicities, abilities, genders and gender identities across Canada.

Wildlife Preservation Canada is pleased to announce Karsten Heuer as the 2019 recipient. Karsten, an alumni of the University of Calgary, first got his taste for the outdoors during seasonal work as a wildlife biologist with Parks Canada, and he’s never looked back. Learn more about Karsten.

2020 Nominations Closed

Wildlife Preservation Canada will be announcing the next recipient of the award in fall 2020.  

About Alec Monro

The award fund was established by Wildlife Preservation Canada to honour Past President Alec Monro.

Alec is a marketing and technology consultant and is President of Interl Inc. Prior to forming his own consultancy, he was with Nova Chemicals and DuPont Canada. Alec has extensive cross-cultural international marketing and negotiation experience and has travelled widely in the Americas, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia as well as Australia and Oceania on technology and wine related businesses.

Alec is a Chemical Engineering graduate of the University of Toronto and is a registered Professional Engineer in Ontario. He is a member of the Society of Plastics Engineers and a number of wine societies.

With a long involvement in many community and interest based activities including sports associations and municipal politics, Alec is an Honourary Board member of the Necessary Angel Theatre Company and is a current Board member of Wildlife Preservation Canada, having previous served as both Vice President and President / Board Chair.

Alec’s passions are travel, wine, photography, birding and a good mystery.

“I am happy to be part of an initiative to recognize experienced wildlife preservers, who represent the next important stage after our long standing New Noah program” – Alec Monro